Home arrow Departments arrow Board of Commissioners arrow Board of Commissioners
Board of Commissioners

Board of Commissioners


The Board of Commissioners is responsible for establishing county policies and for setting the county budget. The board adopts the county budget and authorizes expenditures. The board also approves or denies zonings throughout the county. The commission chairman is responsible for the daily operations of the county.

Six members constitute the Board of Commissioners. The county is divided into five commission districts. The district commissioners are elected by district and the chairman is elected countywide. They all serve staggered four-year terms.

The board holds official board meetings the first and third Tuesday of each month at 7:00p.m. These meetings are held in the Historic Courthouse that is located at 1124 Clark Street, Covington, Georgia. All work sessions are called and posted as needed. Agendas of all meetings are made available through the county clerk's office.
















Keith Ellis, Chairman








John Douglas, Commissioner
District 1






Lanier Sims, Commissioner
District 2





Nancy Schulz, Commissioner
District 3



J.C. Henderson, Commissioner
District 4







Levie Maddox, Commissioner
District 5



John Middleton, County Manager






Jackie Smith, County Clerk






DSC_0018 (Large)a.jpg


Tommy Craig, County Attorney






















Last Updated ( Thursday, 21 February 2013 )
© 2008 Newton County Board of Commissioners | Template by vonfio.de

Hit counter

We've had:
39640 pageviews
since December 2005

This website is best viewed with:
Internet Explorer 5.5+,
Mozilla Firefox 1.0+,
Netscape 7.2+ and
Opera 8.0
Advised screen resolution:
1024 x 768