News Flash


Posted on: October 17, 2019

Four Newton County educators receive Chairman's Medals

Image of Adams and Aldridge Award

Image of Chairman Presenting to Adams
Newton County Chairman Marcello Banes presented the Chairman’s Medal to four educators who epitomize the mission of OneNewton and serving their community during Tuesday evening’s Board of Commissioners Meeting.

“It is amazing to me how two families can do so much for a community. The Aldridges and the Adamses – A&A. If we could model our life after these four people our community would be a much, much better place. I am so thankful for you guys.”

Banes gave the third and fourth set of Chairman's Medals to four Newton County Schools Educator Hall of Fame honorees and Covington Newton Chamber R.O. Arnold Award winners, Jerry and Lee Aldridge and T.K. and Louise Adams Tuesday evening.

"With both couple there are approximately 132 years of teaching and educating kids in our community. That is amazing," Banes said. "I challenge you to go look in any other place in our region and I don’t think you would find that kind of commitment."Image of Chairman Presenting to Aldridge

The Aldridges and Adamses join Pastor Carl Jones of Bethel Bara Baptist Church and Retired Election Board Chairman Hugh Steele as Chairman Medal honorees. The Chairman’s Medal is given to members of the community who represent the OneNewton initiative of community excellence and partnership.

“We started the OneNewton initiative … to partner and build relationships throughout the community and we try to make our community one family and that is how we operate,” Banes said.  

Image of Aldridge award

Image of Adams Awards

Facebook Twitter Email